Is gelato vegan?

People often ask us ‘is gelato vegan?’ and the answer is no because it is made with milk and cream. We have experimenting with making gelato using milk substitutes in the past but unfortunately the flavour is not as good as when made with dairy. This means that while vegans enjoy gelato made with alternative milks (almond, rice, soy etc.) there is not enough of a market for us to be able to sell a whole batch while it is fresh. While we love developing new recipes to allow as many people as possible to enjoy our gelato, we also hate food waste and so until there is more demand we will not be creating dairy-free gelato.

Fear not!  Our sorbetti are suitable for vegans because they are only made of fruit, water and sugar.  We always take care to never cross-contaminate our ingredients. This includes the way we display our gelati in the display cabinet and during service.

 

What is gelato?

Click here to find out!

 

I have an allergy, can I still enjoy your gelato?

Our ingredients are all classified according to the EU standardised allergen list.  This means we take care to separate all the following allergens:

  • cereals containing gluten
  • eggs
  • peanuts
  • soya
  • milk
  • nuts
  • lupin
  • sesame seeds
  • sulphur

We also separate alcohol in a similar manner.  Our production and serving processes ensure that there is no cross contamination between these products. All gelati and sorbetti that contain allergens or alcohol have clear labels. However if you are unsure, please ask a member of staff for assistance.

Gelato Village allergen information

Does gelato contain egg?

As a rule of thumb, no.  We have a small selection of recipes that use egg, but we always clearly label them. You can also read a full list of ingredients in store at any time.

Does gelato contain gelatine?

Nope! Gelato is an Italian word that happens to share the first five letters of gelatine. Our gelato is suitable for vegetarians and as such, does not contain any gelatin or gelatine whatsoever. We do use gelatine in some of our Italian style cakes and pastries that we produce in store, so please ask our team for more information.

Help! I have a nut allergy!

Fear not!  We clearly label all nut products. We take great care not to cross contaminate in the Lab and in the cabinet.

 

Help! I’m a vegetarian!

Once again, Fear not!  All of our gelati, alongside the majority of our products (barring some of the pastries) are suitable for vegetarians.

 

Help! I follow a Kosher/Halal diet!

Fear Not!  Our gelato is suitable for vegetarians and hence suitable for a Kosher or Halal diet. Obviously our alcohol-based gelati are not suitable. However, we take every care to label products clearly and to ensure there is no cross-contamination during production or service.

 

Look out for this information in store to find out which of our products are suitable for your diet

Menu information, gelato leicester, is gelato vegan

 

Help! I have more questions!

You have the answer to “What is gelato” but you may want to know more. Fear not!  Please ask a member of staff in-store or email us for any queries you may have – We will be more than pleased to help and guide you.